MĀPUA MASTERPLAN BACKGROUND

The Tasman 10-Year Plan (Long Term Plan) for Te Kaunihera o te Tai o Aorere – Tasman District Council has highlighted the desire of Iwi and the community to consolidate the multiple small projects in one area as part of the Future Development Strategy. To this end, the Māpua Masterplan is being developed and includes planned projects for Māpua for the next 10 years. As Treaty Partners, the Council has a legal obligation to involve, engage, and consult with Iwi. The Council has been proactive in embracing partnership through extensive involvement, engagement and consultation with Iwi and the public¹.

In December 2023 the three Councils of Te Tauihu (Nelson, Tasman and Marlborough) signed a Relationship Agreement with the eight lwi of Te Tauihu. This agreement gives a high level overview of how the Councils and lwi will work together. These are positive steps forward in strengthening the relationships between Council, Community and Tangata Whenua.

The following narrative is to assist the community to understand the cultural and historical



significance of the Māpua area to the Iwi of Te Tauihu. The Māpua area has an extensive history as an occupation and resource harvesting area, and is extensively interspersed with wāhi tapu (sacred areas). For these reasons, Te Tauihu Iwi – in particular the descendants of those who occupied, cultivated and harvested kai, and exercised customary rights in Māpua – have a vested interest in current and future activities and developments in the area.

TIMELINE

1400 s	1500 s	1600 s	1700 s	1800s
 Pohea arrived at Arapawa Pā site established at Matangi Āwhio 	Ngāti Tūmatakōkiri occupation	 Ngāi Tara occupation Abel Tasman visits Golden Bay Ngāti Kuia origins in Te Tauihu Ngāti Apa and Rangitāne arrive Ngāi Tahu occupation 	 Captain Cook visits Aotearoa European whalers, sealers and traders start to arrive 	 Ngāti Koata, Ngāti Toa, Ngāti Rārua (Tainui), and Ngāti Tama, Te Ātiawa (Taranaki) arrive Dumont d'Urville visits Aotearoa Te Tiriti o Waitangi is signed at Te Whanganui/ Port Underwood, Rangitoto ki te Tonga/d'Urville Island and Tōtaranui/Queen Charlotte Sound
	7290			 New Zealand Company purchases land in Nelson and Tasman European Settlements are established



Today there are eight Iwi acknowledged in Te Tauihu (Northern South Island): Ngāti Kuia, Rangitāne, Ngāti Apa ki te Rā Tō, Ngāti Toa, Ngāti Koata, Ngāti Rārua, Ngāti Tama and Te Ātiawa. Each of these Iwi has self-identified areas of interest. Between 2005 and 2014 Te Tauihu Iwi pursued their Treaty Claims with the Waitangi Tribunal. The Tribunal found that each Iwi has layers of interests, which often overlap and intersect with each other. The Crown recognised and acknowledged the eight Te Tauihu Iwi had valid Treaty of Waitangi claims, resulting in several Treaty Settlement Acts. Te Tauihu has a rich and dynamic history. Through raupatu (conquest), occupation, and intermarriage between Kurahaupō, Taranaki and Tainui Iwi, sets the scene for historical complexities and dynamic relationships that have shaped the Mana Whenua and Tangata Whenua status and areas of interest. The historical narrative and interests of each Iwi is set out in each of their Deeds of Settlements.

For this purpose, we will be sharing the collective cultural narrative of Te Tauihu Iwi for Māpua.



¹ A list of legislation that provides for Council and Iwi obligations is included in the last document.